Transferring to Keg. What am I doing wrong!!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

axematt

Reaction score
Gday all.

I have read the posts on this forum and others on this topic and it seems that I am doing things right but the evidence seems to prove otherwise. I am trying to transfer from my SS fermenter to a corny keg.

I have a silicon hose from the fermenter to a quick disconnect (black and I have tried the grey) to the liquid out post of the keg. Prior to connecting I have filled the keg with Co2 and then purged it so the pressure is not forcing back up the fermenter but it bloody takes forever! I'm talking an hour or so, with constant moving and wriggling or disconnecting of the connection to the keg to get things moving as it stops. I am pulling the Release valve as its filling as well. I am new to the world of home brewing but I'm getting really tasty beer from advice from this forum but It's this last part of the process that I can't get right. Any help really appreciated!

Cheers

My keg fills from a SS brewbucket to keg through a liquid QD on the OUT post take around 20 minutes. Instead of pulling the release valve you can just place a gas disconnect on the IN post to bleed the air as the keg fills with liquid.

I suggest you check if you have sediment or something else obstructing the tap, hose or QD.

Thanks mate. That's a good suggestion on the gas in connector, will do that next time. 20 mins, HA! I wish that was my case. Do you pour off the first litre or so before you connect to the keg?

I check a small sample first (50mL or so) to do a refractometer gravity reading and check that it runs off ok. If any sediment I'll pull a 750mL bottle off (which I'll either bottle carb or shake up for an early sample) before kegging.