Toss the brew? Danstar BRY97

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LKC

Reaction score
I have just bottled by first brew for for a long time and think it may be compromised.

This is my first time brewing with the BRY97 and I must say there was alot more karusen created by this yeast than the US-05 i am used to using.

A few days into the brew I noticed a wet sticky patch near/ around the fermenter. not enough to suggest a 'real' leak. but enough for my to put a paper towel under the ferment and see what happened. ( I spilt some airlock water putting the lid on after adding the yeast and thought it may be this but it was sticky). the paper towel was dry today but stuck to the floor and fermenter.

After bottling I noticed some darker lumps in the yeast cake and in the scum on the top of the fermenter.

During bottling I tried the brew and it tasted great no off flavours or smells.

I have added pics below. does anybody think I should not risk drinking this or am I just panicing.

The fermenter has got around 4 or 5 brews under its belt and when not being used is kept on the patio.

yeast cake lump.jpg

Top scum.jpg

bottom zoom.jpg

bottom zoom.jpg

20131019_132512.jpg

LKC said:
During bottling I tried the brew and it tasted great no off flavours or smells.
This is your answer. The only way beer can poison you is if you drink too much of it.

I have no idea what that last picture is but all the others look like yeast and krausen ring, etc.

BRY 97 is a beast. It has the traits of a true escapee and if not contained it will devour your dog, your cat, your family :ph34r: :lol:

If it tastes OK then drink it :chug:

The last picture is the yeast cake after bottling.

due to the taste I was not too worried but the green mold spots on the bottom were a concern.