Stopped fermenting at og 1030

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Signoredv

Reaction score
Hello from Sweden,

Have done an IPA and have questions about FG. Measured OG to 1070, and now it seems like it stopped at 1030. Fermentation seemed a bit bad from the beginning (no bubbles in the fermenter) but thought it leaked air so that was OK.
Anyway, it has been 1030 since last Saturday (almost 5 days). What do you do in this case? I don't think it tastes particularly sweet, but it feels like it's not finished fermenting, or what do you think?
I am a beginner so have not been through this before.

Should I Bottle This? Or should I wait, or maybe pour some dry yeast and give it a few days more?

What would you do? I have tried to whisk around the yeast at the bottom a little but it gave no effect.

Hi welcome aboard
Your right to be concerned, but without a lot more information no one can give you an answer that is more than a guess.

Where did the wort come from, Kit, Extract or All Grain. A kit or extract brew will attenuate more than the 57% you have achieved. If it was an AG brew and you mashed way too hot (>72oC) you may have made a very unfermentable wort.

What type of yeast, how much did you pitch, what temperature... Was the yeast fresh and healthy, did you aerate the wort.

Probably a few other possibilities but answers to those would cover most of the common causes of your problem.
You could take a small sample (say your hydrometer tube) and put in a shed load of good dry yeast (say a teaspoon full) and see if the gravity drops, it should do so in 24 hours, that would tell you if its the wort being unfermentable or the yeast conking out for some other reason.