spices

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poggor

Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone has any tips on using spices in beer- Im making a belgian ale this weekend and i was thinking of putting in a bit of clove and cinnamon. I've never used spices before- what is people's experience with using them? are they better in the boil or in the fermenter? i want the final result to be pretty subtle.

cheers!

george

Well no one replied to my thread! so i just went ahead and had a guess in the great tradition of home brewing.
Made my batch of belgian ale today and threw in about 5 g of freshly crushed cloves half way through the boil.

I'll keep you all posted about how it turns out!

g

Didn't see it!

If you don't get satisfactory flavour that way add them during secondary fermentation. You can chuck them in, perform a taste test every now and then, and remove when the taste was what you wanted.

Firstly a lot of spice flavours in beer are yeast driven. Phenolics can range from clove to peppery to less pleasant descriptors like medicinal.
Secondly spice in beer is better added judiciously -it should complement the beer you are adding it to.
Thirdly: use fresh ingredients, prepare them properly - gentle toast dry spice, split and scrape vanilla, etc.

Because less is more, you can add a bit to the boil, taste during fermentation and add more in secondary if you think it needs. Adding is easy, subtraction is hard.

I have used spices in a cider before, I added them after initial ferment. It worked well, I could definitely taste the cinnamon and vanilla (It did ferment at 28 degrees, so tasted pretty foul but the spices were the only thing that made it drinkable :p). I have never added them during boil though.