Secondary Fermentation - Advice On Idea

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rizzla

Reaction score
Hi,
Firstly my apologies if this has been answered before, I have looked around the site.
Secondly I'm new to this and have made quite a few "practice beers" (somehow managed to get them down) and some good ones so please forgive if my enquiry is naive.

I currently have 3 fermenters going that end up in 19L kegs after about 2 - 3 weeks of fermentation. These go in the fridge for immediate consumption. I have noticed the beer tastes much better the longer they are in the fridge.

I have 5 kegs, two are always empty and by the time fermentation has finished I am about out in the fridge.

I was wondering if after about 2 weeks or when bubbling slows down

1. I transfered the clear fermenter contents, (leaving the bottom sediment) to 20 L bottled water containers (the type you turn upside down into the dispenser),
2. put in a bit of malt in to get some CO2 happening to keep bugs out,
3. wrapped some sanitised glad wrap over the top secured with an elastic band not tight enough to keep the CO2 in
4. let them sit for another 2 weeks

Whether my beer would improve with longer sitting around with the added bonus of freeing up the fermenters as I could brew every 2 weeks or so and transfer the secondary (plastic water botles) as needed into the kegs.
Cheers

The only "real" problem i see with this is adding extra malt to the already "finished" beer.

Not sure why you'd need to.

Racking to secondary is as simple as getting another "vessel" and carefully (to avoid splashing) transferring from primary to secondary to either:

1. get beer off yeast cake.
2. free up another primary vessel to ferment in
3. cold condition/lager your finished beer

there could be others - the more technical can chime in....