Safale K-97 Failure....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pandreas

Reaction score
I need help with Safale K-97 yeast!

I am new to home brewing, having just started by 3rd brew today, But have already experienced 2 failures with K-97!

The first failure occurred on my second brew in which I attempted to make a 'Leffe' style beer using a BrewCraft recipe. I pitched my K-97 directly into my fermenter at 24 degrees. It failed to fire after 30 hours, so I panicked and quickly pitched yeast that came with the Muntons malt extract kit.

The Muntons yeast fired within 4 hours and produced what I hope will be a pretty good brew. Unfortunately, this yeast wasn't able to ferment the 2kg of maltose as completely as I would have liked and have therefore ended up with a higher FG than I would have hoped for.

The next time K-97 failed was last night when I tried to make another BrewCraft kit recipe called "Hoegarrden". I went to great lengths preparing the wort as directed and THIS time I decided to rehydrate and proof the K-97.

I rehydrated the 11.5g sachet of yeast in tepid water for 20 minutes. I then added about 1 tsp of sugar dissolved in cooled boiled water to the yeast for proofing. It didn't bubble or churn AT ALL after another 30 minutes. I had the Kit yeast rehydrated and proofed within 20 minutes. This yeast was churning away and frothing completely. I decided I may have been impatient with the K-97 so pitched it into the wort anyway.