Saaz

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bierbaron

Reaction score
Pedigree
A Czech landrace variety

Brewing Usage
Aroma

Aroma
Very mild, with pleasant earthy, herbal and floral overtones

Possible Substitutions

Typical Beer Styles
  • Lager

Alpha Acids
2.0 - 5.0%

Beta Acids
7.0 - 8.0%

Co-Humulone
23 - 28%

Total Oil
0.4 - 1.0 mL / 100g

Myrcene
~42% of total oil

Humulene
~19% of total oil

Caryophyllene
~6% of total oil

Farnesene
~15% of total oil

General Trade Perception
The classic "noble" aroma hop with long and strong traditions, associated with the renowned pilsner lager

MOD: Post edited by Lord Raja Goomba to insert above description. Original post below:

howdy all,

im intrested to hear other peoples perceptions of the flavour/aroma profile of saaz hops. I am new to this and i do have my own opinion, but like i said, other peoples comments/opinions would be great. Does anybody dislike this variety??? :unsure:

The more who reply the better!!

cheers baron

Hello Mr bierbaron,

When i think of saaz i think spicy. i think most people use it in lagers around here but i use it once in a while for my APA's for something different works well.

Rob.

MMMMMmmmmmmm

SAAZ Ale.. :super:

You can never use enough good euro Saaz to bitter with......

You can never use enough for flavour or aroma..

My fav ale uses all Saaz for bitter,flavour & aroma

It is basically Ale malt with 5-10% wheat to 1050sg than bittered to about 30-35 IBU then just add good amounts for flavour and aroma

MMMMMmmmmmmm

SAAZ Ale.. :super:

You can never use enough good euro Saaz to bitter with......

You can never use enough for flavour or aroma..

My fav ale uses all Saaz for bitter,flavour & aroma