Robust Porter

Coodgee

Thought I would try my hand at a porter. I'm looking to brew a well balanced, smooth porter... a little bit malty sweet but balanced by the roasted flavours. I want it to be best described as smooth. With 20 minutes tinkering I came up with this. I wanted to put 500g of Rye in there but the OG is already at the high end. Considering also adding 100g of cocoa and some vanilla flavouring. Would appreciate any comments:
Code:
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
4.50 kg               Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC)           Grain         1        69.2 %        
1.00 kg               Munich Malt (17.7 EBC)                   Grain         2        15.4 %        
0.50 kg               Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (78.8 EBC)    Grain         3        7.7 %         
0.35 kg               Carafa II (811.6 EBC)                    Grain         4        5.4 %         
0.05 kg               Biscuit Malt (45.3 EBC)                  Grain         5        0.8 %         
0.05 kg               Chocolate Malt (886.5 EBC)               Grain         6        0.8 %         
0.05 kg               Roasted Barley (591.0 EBC)               Grain         7        0.8 %         
50.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           8        22.0 IBUs     
40.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           9        10.7 IBUs     
1.0 pkg               English Ale (White Labs #WLP002) [35.49  Yeast         10       -

I'd consider subbing some of the other roasted malts for a proportion of brown malt* to achieve the same colour. it has a nice smooth toasty character which to me screams porter

*Simpsons - I can't comment on other maltsters but apparently they vary

ok, maybe just add 50grams in a more the merrier arrangement? That's what I was aiming for with the contribution of the biscuit malt. Maybe they are fairly similar.

after a bit of tinkering, I was thinking of trying 150grams of special-B malt. A raisin or plumb flavour sounds nice. getting a bit ridiculous but I think if there is one style that justifies a complex malt bill it's a porter.
Code:
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
4.50 kg               Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC)           Grain         1        67.7 %        
1.00 kg               Munich Malt (17.7 EBC)                   Grain         2        15.0 %        
0.50 kg               Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (78.8 EBC)    Grain         3        7.5 %         
0.35 kg               Carafa II (811.6 EBC)                    Grain         4        5.3 %         
0.15 kg               Special B Malt (354.6 EBC)               Grain         5        2.3 %         
0.05 kg               Brown Malt (128.1 EBC)                   Grain         6        0.8 %         
0.05 kg               Chocolate Malt (886.5 EBC)               Grain         7        0.8 %         
0.05 kg               Roasted Barley (591.0 EBC)               Grain         8        0.8 %         
50.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           9        21.8 IBUs     
40.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           10       10.6 IBUs     
1.0 pkg               English Ale (White Labs #WLP002) [35.49  Yeast         11       -

to be honest I'm not sure how much character you're going to get from 50g (I use between 6-10%), with the carafa (or RB) down at more like 2-3% total. Will wait for others to comment

I'd ditch the Munich and up the brown malt heaps. To the 500g mark. The proportion of other dark malts are probably in the ball park. The carafa II might lend too much to the darkness with that much crystal and brown (500g) so I'd back that off a touch. Looks a touch complex to me but you may have the perfect beer there, who knows.

Mate I'm about to head out but consider using black patent instead of roast barley. From my research the porter was made famous from the black patent malt which made a porter discernibly different from a stout. Just something to research. Plus I really like the idea of cocoa and vanilla. I've made three porters in the last 8months and it's a style that truly comes to life with those flavours added. Read up about maltose Falcons make a porter, there is a bunch of helpful hints and tips.

This is my porter, with a quite simple but delicious malt bill
image.jpg

This is where I am upto based on all your feedback. I know it's a bit ridiculous. Every brewer is entitled to an indulgent malt bill from time to time right?
Code:
Recipe Specifications
--------------------------

Batch Size (fermenter): 23.00 l   

Estimated OG: 1.060 SG
Estimated Color: 69.4 EBC
Estimated IBU: 36.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %

------------
4.50 kg               Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC)           Grain         1        70.9 %        
0.75 kg               Brown Malt (128.1 EBC)                   Grain         2        11.8 %        
0.50 kg               Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (78.8 EBC)    Grain         3        7.9 %         
0.35 kg               Carafa II (811.6 EBC)                    Grain         4        5.5 %         
0.15 kg               Special B Malt (354.6 EBC)               Grain         5        2.4 %         
0.05 kg               Black (Patent) Malt (985.0 EBC)          Grain         6        0.8 %         
0.05 kg               Chocolate Malt (886.5 EBC)               Grain         7        0.8 %         
50.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           8        22.5 IBUs     
40.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           9        13.8 IBUs     
1.0 pkg               English Ale (White Labs #WLP002) [35.49  Yeast         10       -

looks delicious.

here's what I run with minor variations. I added some choc to the most recent one which gave it a coffee-like aroma. often I'll split the base malt 2:1 pale:munich and reduce the crystal slightly.

Code:
06-2015 porter
Robust Porter

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (L):           23.0
Total Grain (kg):         6.150
Total Hops (g):           60.00
Original Gravity (OG):    1.061  (°P): 15.0
Final Gravity (FG):       1.018  (°P): 4.6
Alcohol by Volume (ABV):  5.59 %
Colour (SRM):             34.8   (EBC): 68.6
Bitterness (IBU):         31.4   (Tinseth - No Chill Adjusted)
Brewhouse Efficiency (%): 75
Boil Time (Minutes):      70

Grain Bill
----------------
5.000 kg Pale Malt (81.3%)
0.500 kg Gladfields Shepherd Delight (8.13%)
0.500 kg Simpsons Brown Malt (8.13%)
0.150 kg Carafa II malt special (2.44%)

Hop Bill
----------------
30.0 g Fuggles Pellet (5.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) (1.3 g/L)
30.0 g Fuggles Pellet (5.7% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil) (1.3 g/L)

Misc Bill
----------------

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 90 Minutes.
Fermented at 20°C with Wyeast 1469 - West Yorkshire Ale

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

Simpson's brown malt is more of a coffee/toffee malt too FYI. It has a very distinguishable flavour.

It in no way resembles the historic porters but does give pretty awesome flavour. It's also a helluva lot darker than 128EBC.

Nothing wrong with roast barley in a robust porter - just a little bit.

20+% between the crystal malts and brown seems high to me. I reckon it would leave too much mouthfeel / malt sweetness.

Having said all that my thoughts are make what you want and adjust next time :)

After many iterations, some simple, some crazy complex, mine is:

70% MO
12% Brown (Bairds)
8% Munich (Gladfields ro Weyermann)
5% Caramunich
3% Midnight wheat
2% Pale chocolate

I prefer EKG or Challenger as the hops - single 60min addition

Works well as a standard Porter or as a stronger version. I found the more complex gain bills, even if it was just one more grain, started to get muddy and the simpler grain bills lacked something - but were still better than the more complex ones.

I use WLP 007 or WLP 002, both with good results, although I've foufn WLP007 better for the bigger versions as WLP seems to edge them into sweet territory which I don't like

Agree with Parks, Simpsons is @ 500 EBC, Fawcett is @ 130.
I've not used the Simpsons, but the lighter brown malt is very tasty
I don't use any black in porter, just a personal preference
Grist usually :
MO 77%
Brown 10%
Pale Choc 5%
Dark Xtal 5%
Light Xtal 3%

This gives a nice choc/coffee flavour on its own

I usually go with:

MO 70%
Choc 10%
Amber 10%
Brown 5%
Crystal 5%

All English malts and yeast (Whitbread, Thames Valley)
EKG to 30 IBU at 60 min

so many options! what a cool style! I'm really looking forward to this. Only problem is I have 100 litres of beer on premises at the moment. Luckily I'm having a party next weekend!

Parks said:
Simpson's brown malt is more of a coffee/toffee malt too FYI. It has a very distinguishable flavour.

It in no way resembles the historic porters but does give pretty awesome flavour. It's also a helluva lot darker than 128EBC.

Nothing wrong with roast barley in a robust porter - just a little bit.

20+% between the crystal malts and brown seems high to me. I reckon it would leave too much mouthfeel / malt sweetness.

seamad said:
Agree with Parks, Simpsons is @ 500 EBC, Fawcett is @ 130.
I've not used the Simpsons, but the lighter brown malt is very tasty
For Brown malt I have either Fawcett or Bairds available to me, the specs are:

EBC 100 - 190 Imparts a dry, biscuit flavour.

This is for both maltsters so not sure if craftbrewer are just being lazy there or if they have the same general specs. Given it specifically lists one of only two qualities as "dry" I didn't think it would add too much sweetness?

Seen as though we are all throwing recipes in too here is mine....

Judged 1st place at the NSW 2015 state comp last year. Judged by Shawn Shirlock who runs Foghorn Brewery and previously at Murrays, scoring it 83/100

I think it made final table but old Barry was triumphant :beerbang: with his Vienna Lager.

It was my 2nd attempt at the style using the same yeast - Burton Ale 023 "Perfect for porters and stouts"

5.2% ABV
35 IBU

68% Maris Otter
15% Munich
5% Dark Crystal
3% Medium Crystal
6% Chocolate Malt
3% Black Patent

mashed @ 67c then boiled for 60mins

Chinook @ 60mins = 30ibu
Cascade @ 10mins = 5ibu

Fermented with WLP023

Cant wait to throw cocoa nibs and vanilla with the next one :icon_drool2:

Coodgee, The fawcett/bairds brown to me is dry and almost coffee like. Taste is pretty subjective though, so others may think differently.

Coodgee said:
Considering also adding 100g of cocoa and some vanilla flavouring.

Don't do it.
You can achieve chocolate flavours without the cocoa. Brew beer first, tinker later.

BTW Marynka hops are great for aniseed.

Simpsons Brown is AMAZING....

Can recommend Bairds. Wouldn't say it was dry and biscuity though more rich coffee with notes of liquorice. Goes well with pale chocolate malt.

Coodgee said:
For Brown malt I have either Fawcett or Bairds available to me, the specs are:

EBC 100 - 190 [font=trebuchet ms']Imparts a dry, biscuit flavour.[/font]

[font=trebuchet ms']This is for both maltsters so not sure if craftbrewer are just being lazy there or if they have the same general specs. Given it specifically lists one of only two qualities as "dry" I didn't think it would add too much sweetness?[/font]
Edit - haven't used Fawcett

Amt Name Type # %/IBU
4.50 kg Pale Malt, Ale (Barrett Burston) (5.9 EBC) Grain 1 76.3 %
0.80 kg Brown Malt (Simpsons) (295.5 EBC) Grain 2 13.6 %
0.30 kg Chocolate Malt (Bairds) (985.0 EBC) Grain 3 5.1 %
0.30 kg Crystal (Joe White) (141.8 EBC) Grain 4 5.1 %

30.00 g Fuggles [4.50 %] - Boil 45.0 min Hop 5 12.2 IBUs
20.00 g East Kent Goldings (EKG) [5.00 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 6 6.0 IBUs
20.00 g Fuggles [4.50 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 7 5.4 IBUs 1
5.00 g Fuggles [4.50 %] - Dry Hop 0.0 Days Hop 8 0.0 IBUs

That's going to be my crack at a Porter in a week or so.
The overall bitterness is low, but I plan on adding coffee beans to the boil/dry hop for something a bit different.