Removing Freezer From Fridge

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

facter

Reaction score
Next week my lager will be finished and I'll have an opportunity for a day to actually attack my fridge and try to remove the freezer component from it ... that said, im no electrician, and it worries me a little to be taking out the top part of the fridge.

has anyone done this and can give me some advice? are there actualy electrical parts that need to be removed or is it all piping etc?

Im sure its a bit of a hard question if you havnt seen the fridge .. but by doing this I will probably be able to get two fermenters into it instead of just the one!

Hi Facter,
Most fridges with a freezer included rely on the freezer to provide "cool" for the fridge section.
I would get some serious advice from a fridgee before hacking it up.
Cheers

Are you sure the gas doesn't go into the freezer? Mine doesn't have any electricals attached, but it actually provides the cooling for the fridge through coils that are a part of it.

I had a bar fridge in which all the cooling was done by the freezer "element". It was a big metal plate bent into a U sitting up the top (if you get me..) I just unbent the metal bit and it kinda hangs out at the top of the bar fridge, giving enough headspace to fit in 2 kegs and keep them hold on the lowest (ie highest temperature) thermostat setting.

Point is, maybe u dont want to remove the freezer part, just redesign it :)

I actually asked this same question to a fridgie I know last week sometime... I was hoping to turn a little bar fridge I have into a fermenting fridge. He said it can't be done due to the fact that the freezer element is what keeps eveything cool... Take out the freezer and you just have a big box.

Cheers,
Andrew