Removing Bottle Labels Experiment (with photos)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

idzy

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to brewing and have been reading a stack of different posts related to how to remove bottle labels and thought I would share some of my findings.

Experiment
The purpose of the experiment was the uncover the absolute best way to remove labels from a range of different bottle brands and sizes. Factors considered were elapsed time, actual effort, and cost.

Equipment and Methods
The equipment and methods that were on trial were:
  • Soak in water
  • Bleach + water
  • Paint scrapper
  • Dishwasher (without soap)
  • Caustic soda (a.k.a. Drain cleaner)
  • Eucalyptus oil
Method
The method I used was to basically work my way down the list, from top to bottom. Although inherently this method has flaws. After now having finished, I feel the results would be the same even if you were to run experiments in parallel, etc.

1. Equipment.JPG

Trial
Soak in water
First thing I did was soak all the bottles in the kitchen sink. For a number of bottles, this was enough and removed the labels without too many issues. However there was residual glue stuck where the bottle labels had been, ie. Stone and Wood plastic labels and Coopers Pale Ale paper variety.

Paint scrapper
The next trial was to use a paint scrapper, as has been mentioned. This method was okay, but really was a lot of hard work, time consuming and really just spread the mess out, rather than removing it.

Dishwasher (without soap)