Regarding Fg With A Coopers Scotch Ale Recipe

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Squishcow

Reaction score
Hi there Brewers, first post after lurking for a short while...

I am a brewing novice and am currently in the process of putting down my second kit. Having picked up a great deal of good pointers from other threads, I find myself still unsure about one or two things.

The kit I'm currently working on is a Coopers Scotch Ale recipe commonly available. It's in the primary fermentation stage and all seems to be going well, but I've just done a calculation of the ABV and it seems a little low. Here's what I used:

Ingredients
1.7kg Thomas Coopers Sparkling Ale beer kit
1.5kg Thomas Coopers Amber Malt Extract
500g Dark Brown Sugar
Brew Cellar English Ale yeast or Sparkling Ale kit yeast

The first flaw I encountered was that at the point where I pitched the yeast, I realised that the recipe called for the 7g Sparkling Ale yeast that comes with the kit, but the pack pictured was in fact a 15g Brew Cellar English Ale yeast. Since I'd already used the 7g pack before this realisation, I took a risk and added half the English Ale yeast too, reasoning that although it might be disastrous I would rather have too much yeast than too little. So... will this cause major problems? Have I screwed my brew?

OG was 1.051
pitched yeast at 18 deg.
first day saw temp 12-14 deg, used heat belt and blanket to raise to 14-16 deg.
fermentation set in with vigour, temp maintained 18-20 for next 3 days.
day 4 saw no visible fermentation at all
3 days of hydrometer readings since then show a constant 1.018

With these readings I calculate that my beer will be around 5 per cent... that's surely too low, even for this recipe's lower than usual interpretation of the style.