Red Earth hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bellyup

Reaction score
Guys,
I'd like your advice. I have just put a Samuel Adams Boston Lager into my F.V. Done in the Grainfather:
5.6 k pale
.25 k light crystal
75 min. mash
60 min. boil
20g. Magnum@ 60
13g Tett.@ 15
13gTett.@5
Nottingham yeast ( yeah, I know)
Now the recipe says 17g Tett. @7 days dry hopped.

My mate has given me a shipload of frozen, vacuumed Red Earth hops that he has grown as well as some cuttings that I've started on the chook fence ( he doesn't brew). I have never used or tasted RE hops. I have never used hop cones before.
Red Earth hops are Aust.and described as " spicy, earthy with citrus underneath" -'sounds like it would work with the Tett hops/ lager combo.
How much and when to add?
How long do you leave in the f.v.?
Any and all advice appreciated.
Bruce.

Never heard of Red Earth Hop, just read the very sparse amount of information available, looks like its recommended for Californian Common, APA and IAPA,
Sam Adams Boston Lager uses Hallertau Mittlefruh as its finishing hop.
They might have another hop for bittering, Hallertau Magnum would be a good choice, as would German grown Northern Brewer, strangely enough not the American versions of either hop.
Nothing against Tettnang (its a personal favourite) and it would taste good in a Lager, just not what the brewer uses if you are trying "clone" the beer.
Mark

Actually SA website mentions both hall mit and tett (no info on what stage of brewing though).

Can't help with RE as I've never used it but depending on how close you want to be with your homage beer, I'd agree with Mark in principle - use the closest thing you can find, if not the real thing. Hop descriptors like spicy, earthy, citrus are pretty generic.