Recipe help Northern English Brown Ale Pls.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scooterism

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this style, so be gentle pls.

The one thing I'm unsure about is the amount of crystal to use, I guess I'm not after a crazy dark or strong nutty beer.
Code:
BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Ordinary Bitter
Brewer: 
Asst Brewer: 
Style: Northern English Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0) 

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 27.84 l
Post Boil Volume: 25.00 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 23.00 l   
Bottling Volume: 22.00 l
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 11.3 EBC
Estimated IBU: 23.7 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 75.1 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
23.00 l               Gold Coast Water                         Water         1        -             
3.00 kg               Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC)           Grain         2        58.3 %        
2.00 kg               Vienna Malt (6.9 EBC)                    Grain         3        38.8 %        
0.15 kg               Caramel/Crystal Malt - 30L (59.1 EBC)    Grain         4        2.9 %         
25.00 g               Target [7.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min          Hop           5        19.9 IBUs     
1.22 Items            Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins)        Fining        6        -             
20.00 g               East Kent Goldings (EKG) [4.60 %] - Boil Hop           7        3.8 IBUs      
1.0 pkg               Safale American  (DCL/Fermentis #US-05)  Yeast         8        -             
0.50 tsp              Yeast Nutrient (Primary 3.0 days)        Other         9        -