Recipe Help - Amber Ale

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Space Ace

Reaction score
Hi guys, was wondering if I could get some advice on a recipe I'm building. I'm still pretty new at this - this is my 5th brew in the partial mash (BIAB) method, and am fairly inexperienced using hops too.

The concept of this brew is a nice, warm caramel malt body, crystal clear burnt orange colour, with an earthy, spicy aroma, finished with oak and cinnamon.

I'm unsure about the late addition hops as any grassy flavours would be a poor fit, what I'm really looking for is the subtle undertones from these hops. With the oak and cinnamon, the qty and method are my best semi educated guess as I have never used them before. Regarding the clarity I plan on chilling the wort with ice packs (I think I can get it down to around 12 degrees) before racking to secondary.

Rusted Nail - American Amber (21L batch)

Fermantables
1 kg American 2-row
1 kg Crystal 60L
1.5 kg Amber DME
250g Carared
250g Munich Malt

Hops
25g Chinook (60 min)
20g Fuggles (15 min)
20g Crystal (Flame Out)
10g Fuggles (dry hop 6 days)
30g Crystal (dry hop 6 days

Flavour / Finings
1 tsp Irish Moss (boil 10 min)
40g Oak Chips (dry hop 6 days)
1x Cinnamon Stick (dry Hop 6 days)

Yeast - Wyeast Denny's Favourite

Any suggestions / advice / corrections would be most appreciated, thanks :)

Hi SA,

AAA is a style that offers a great variation with hop type and as well as the timing of the additions.

My personal opinion is that I tend to avoid dry hopping in an Amber with the accent on the malt however with the oak and the cinnamon it may well subdue the hops to a degree.