Re-culturing yeasts!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

checkers

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I've just started re-culturing coopers pale ale yeast from the bottle for the first time. Made a 750ml starter in a 1L mason jar.
All is going well and is fermenting along nicely.
I read most people start with a 1.5L starter in a big coke bottle so what I want to know is once this is finished fermenting, can I boil up another 75g/750ml wort, drain most of the spent beer off the top of my little yeast family, add fresh wort and give them another 5 day chew on the fresh wort to make a larger crew for pitching?
Also I'm making a few of these so when there done how do I keep them in the fridge?
Drain off wort? On chilled boiled sanitary water??
Like I said I'm new to this. I'm sure trial and error would have me figure it out but really want to get this coopers yeast in beer asap!

If you're going to decant off the spent wort between each step of the starter, then you'll want to cold crash for 12-24 hours prior to decanting, so that you aren't pouring some of your lovely new yeast cells down the drain! :blink:

Re: storing samples - despite what you'll read from some homebrewers, keeping the yeast under the spent wort is absolutely fine. They'll be happy there for months, you'll just have to build them back up with a 1L starter before pitching if you want to use them more than a month or two down the track

I'm currently doing my first starter with some saved wyeast 1214.

How long would it take to see signs of activity?

Would I be able to smell if it's infected, before adding it to the brew?