Quantcast

Powells Malt?

Aussie Home Brewer

Help Support Aussie Home Brewer:

SJW

As you must brew, so you must drink
Reaction score
Has anyone got any info on Powells Malt? I heard a story that the maltster is an ex Joe White maltster and his malts are very cheap. $1 per kg. (bulk) I think I can get my hands on this stuff but was wondering what it was like and what it profile was? Any info will help.
THANKS

STEPHEN

devo

Str8outtaCoburg
Reaction score
From what little I have heard is that his malt is not as highly modified as your other variety and is not suited or ideal for single infusion mashes. :huh:

johnno

It's YUMMY
Reaction score
I'm no expert.
I have used their malts in the last 3-4 brews I have made. All single infusion.
Beer comes out fine.
Even what I entered in Vicbrew. Maybe I didnt place but I was nowhere near the bottom of the categories I entered.

johnno

RobW

The Little Abbotsford Craftbrewery
Reaction score
I've been using it for about a year now with no problems.
What's your source Devo?

warrenlw63

Just a Hoe
Reaction score
I've made one brew with it a low grav Mild. IMO It's nearly as good as Marris Otter. Probably got about the same efficiency too.

For the price I reckon it's the bomb. :rolleyes:

Warren -

devo

Str8outtaCoburg
Reaction score
I haven't used Powells myself but have spoken with another brewer who used it for a decoction mash due to the degree of it's modification. Powells is apparently still a small independant malting business opereating I think from out at Romsey in Victoria, but that's as bout as much as know about it?

Sean

Reaction score
devo said:
I haven't used Powells myself but have spoken with another brewer who used it for a decoction mash due to the degree of it's modification. Powells is apparently still a small independant malting business opereating I think from out at Romsey in Victoria, but that's as bout as much as know about it?
[post="82286"][/post]​