Possible Infection? Hop Flowers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BKBrews

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This isn't a panic post, but I'm curious to know. Brewed this morning and transferred to the fermenter about 20min ago. Chucked the wort in the fridge to get ready to pitch my yeast and I noticed this on the surface.

Any ideas what it is? This is my first time using flowers (courtesy of Belgrave and Yob), so I'm thinking it could be a result of that which I'm not used to. The other more annoying scenario is that something was hiding in my grainfather chiller and I managed to dislodge it during transfer.

All advice appreciated :) ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1483771895.996233.jpg

Doesn't look good. See how it goes.

Not sure I'd consider hop flowers the likely, primary culprit.

That's what I thought.... should I skim it? I used a lot of hops in this and am almost out of beer, so I really want it to work out...

What sort of infection looks like that?

Looks like a lacto some shit.

Should not be the flowers.

****! Should I try and skim it? How on earth would that have developed so quickly?

EDIT: Before anyone asks I soaked my fermenters in cleaning solution for an hour prior to transfer and then 20min sanitising solution.

If you haven't pitched yet maybe transfer back to the boil kettle and give it a 10-15 minute boil to kill whatever is in there and hope it hasn't produced off flavours in that time. If you have a no chill cube just transfer straight into that with the recirc piping, which is how I compete all my GF brews.