Plumbing Connection Lesson - From A Plumber :)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WilBier

Reaction score
Plumbing tips (from me, that's coz I'm a plumber),

Not sure if anyone really wants to here this but I'd just thought I'd throw in a few cents worth.
There are a few standard connection types, and then there are some proprietary connection types.

For example, with copper tubing, there are standard sizings, with many manufacturers making tubing to suit - most common are 1/2 inch and 3/4. Common standard connection type is called a compression fitting - 1/2" or 3/4". The connections are generally made of brass as copper is too maleable to hold a thread under pressure. So you would (normally for water) use a brass compression fitting to join two pieces of copper. Not much point in using a stainless compression fitting for copper tubing - but you do need flaring block to make any compression end to a piece of copper tubing (remember to put the nut on first).

Next standard fitting is (in Australia) called a BSP thread - if anyone didn't know what this means, it literally means British Standard Pipe thread pattern. So a half inch fitting uses certain thread dimensions, there always matching 1/2 inch male threads and 1/2" female threads. But not necessarily the same millimeterage (is that a word?) as the BSP thread pattern for 3/4". I only say this so that if you were tapping a thread into a pipe or a vessel, the thread pattern increases as the pipe diameter increases. Hence the reason for BSP standards. BSP threads are matched to any type of fitting eg; a 1 x 3/4 inch brass reducing bush has the exact same thread as a 1 x 3/4 inch pvc reducing bush. That means a 1/2 inch brass female socket would accept a 1/2 inch male thread from brass, pvc, poly, stainless.... getting it?