Plastic "brumby" Taps

Sure looks like a Celli, its not the same unless its gold and stainless steel :)

Yep, it's a Celli. I reckon the plastic body and flow compensator would make it the perfect portable bar tap with just the right amount of bling.

Hopefully I'll find out more today about cost and availability. If it's outrageous I'll be sticking with the cheapo pommy one.

I don't have any piccies but a couple of weeks ago I discovered a newish wine/spirits/brewing shop that is part of the same mob that have that great little shop on Elizabeth St in Nth Melbourne - where lots of Italians go to sort out their wine stuff.

Anyway, this shop is in Notting Hill or thereabouts and I saw an all plastic pluto gun there. It was the only one they had in stock as it was only about $20 cheaper than the usual deal, but was interesting to find.

PM me if anyone wants to know more.

cheers, Arnie

Anyway, this shop is in Notting Hill or thereabouts and I saw an all plastic pluto gun there. It was the only one they had in stock as it was only about $20 cheaper than the usual deal, but was interesting to find.

Hey Arnie
the shop is called Cellar Plus.
I think they have recently opened in Clayton (Unit 4/ 158 Wellington Rd) and also at Epping
Their website is http://www.allthingswine.com.au/
HStB

I got these from a forum member, who obtained them via eBay UK.

Pros:
- cheap
- light
- easy to clean
- doesn't make beer all foamy on hot days

Cons:
- not stainless bling
I got one exactly the same Barfridge, also from a forum member (I can't remember who though?!)

I will own up as the offending member who sold the taps! I did keep 4 for myself with inbuilt flow restrictors which work fantastic. Last weekend GL and I put 4 beers and soda water on tap at a mates 40th birthday. even thought it was about 37C at 8 o'clock that evening the taps poured extremely well, the main thing was the lines getting warm but the plastic bodies cool down pretty quickly so you just poured a small bit of foam into the drip tray and then filled your glass. One tap was even happily pouring a hefe-mud-weizen (very fresh and very cloudy) at about 250kPA which was on the same reg as the soda water.
I am still deciding whether to drill holes in my shiny new esky to mount two of these taps to or go the stealth mode and have the bronco's inside under the lid

I say bugger the bling :)

Some of the taps I got were Alumasc ones, but I'm not sure of the brand of the ones that Barf and WG got they are slightly different to the Alumasc ones as the lower section screws off.

Hi ausdb I remember now :ph34r: :p

I'm pretty sure they are Alumasc too - they make quite a big range of these types of taps, apparently with a range of different finishes and handles.

As it happens I sent them an email earlier today, enquiring about a plastic tap with flow restrictor and chrome bling - I'm sure they'll be able to supply something a little fancier than the plain black one.

I actually really like the shape of these taps too - the vertical design really suits the box I'm building and keeps the drips well within my narrow drip tray. I think most other taps (including the Celli of course) will project quite a bit further from the panel and drip pretty close to the front of the tray. Not a major problem but it's all in the detail ;)

Plus the JG fitting in the rear is a bonus, less hardware to have to accomodate behind the panel.

Cheers again anyway :beer:

Last weekend GL and I put 4 beers and soda water on tap at a mates 40th birthday. even thought it was about 37C at 8 o'clock that evening the taps poured extremely well,

Those alumasc plastic taps give an amazingly good pour. And, for some reason, the inbuilt restricter is FAR better than the inline jobs. When I was trying to pour a keg of gin and tonic, the pluto gun didnt work (huge foaming and instant degassing), in line restricters didnt work, morebeer taps didnt work, those plastic jobbies did the job perfectly.

Couldn't agree more - It was a similar style tap on my old brew fridge that got me looking for a model with inbuilt flow restrictor - I bought a heap of the inline restrictors & ended up getting rid of all of them, didn't work for me at all.

So why aren't you selling them Ross?

Hey Arnie
the shop is called Cellar Plus.
I think they have recently opened in Clayton (Unit 4/ 158 Wellington Rd) and also at Epping
Their website is http://www.allthingswine.com.au/
HStB
Hi HStB,

yep, that's them. I thought it was Winequip - Wortgames was asking me about them - but while they have similar bling for sale it wasn't the same mob.

The Clayton shop hasn't been there all that long - it is only about 5 mins drive from here and I was just driving along one day when I noticed a sandwich board on the road edge - otherwise it just looks like another in an endless line of warehouses or factories.

I particularly like their ss olive oil containers - big vats that look like milk churns and reasonable prices for the bling factor - would make good fermentors.

So thanks for locating them again for me. I can't find the brochure I picked up from them.

cheers, Arnie

Hi HStB,

I particularly like their ss olive oil containers - big vats that look like milk churns and reasonable prices for the bling factor - would make good fermentors.

So thanks for locating them again for me. I can't find the brochure I picked up from them.

cheers, Arnie

G'day Arnie. :)

I had my eyes on one of those S/S oil containers for sometime for exactly the same reason (50 litre unit). I thought they'd make great fermenters and to a degree I still do.

Only downside (I've been told) is the seams along the bottom leave internal crevices for the nasties to hide. Supposedly making cleaning difficult.

I must examine one more closely in the flesh one day. Winequip who are just down the road from me stock them.

Found a fabulous deal on the Celli, which does everything plus more, with bling to boot :)

I will second that :)

Bling_Bling.JPG

Have 3 kegs in an upside down fridge which lives in the garage. With the fridge door being at the top and easy to get at I never bothered with holes in the fridge or fancy taps, no reason to look good stuck in the garage. Original setup was one Plastic Bronco/Cobra/Picnic, one Pluto and one Brumby QD combo. Pouring was always a drama, each different tap requiring a different serving pressure. Now use two Bronco's and soon will add a third to make life easy, they pour great with low pressure and the original has been in use for nearly 12 months without a hitch.

Thanks for all the input guys. Looks like I'll give them a go.

I pick up the fridge on the weekend so I shoud be putting the keg system together pretty soon. Watch out for an order Ross...