Planing a SMaSH, advice?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surly

Reaction score
Hey all,

I am looking at brewing a series of almost identical SMaSH's in order to improve my techniques and learn a bit more in controlled circumstances.
I would also like this process to aide in my development of a simple, tasty "house" beer. With this in mind I want to use fairly affordable and readily available ingredients (ideally Australian), to make a pale ale style beer. A little less hop driven than an APA so malt character can be more easily discerned.

With this in mind, I am leaning towards using malt from JW, as well as a hop such as galaxy.
As I am very new to brewing, I am pretty unsure of which malt would be the best to use, but based on EBC and price, I have been considering Vienna, Trad Ale and Light Munich.

I would love to hear any opinions or thoughts.

Thanks in advance,

Tim.

Any of the three base malts you nominate will potentially make a good beer.

It depends on just how much you want to emphasize the malt character as to which you choose.

In order of lighter to heavier, Trad Ale, Vienna, and Munich.

I've brewed a number of beers where I've used about 98 to 99% Munich, with 1 to 2%of Caraaroma, and a single bittering addition at 60 minutes to about 50 IBU. They turned out to be great beers. In fact, I've just downed a pint of one!

Edit: Just how new to brewing are you, seeing as you joined the forum on 13/12/07 ???

Cheers warra,

I tend to like my beers malty, so maybe Munich is the way to go, but as we are coming into summer soon, I want to be brewing a pretty sessionable beer as this stuff will need to be drunk fairly quickly in order to make way for my next experiment :)