Oxygen Permeability Of Plastic Fermenters?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mfdes

Reaction score
I have been wondering for a while, since I started brewing in glass, whether plastic fermenters are permeable to oxygen and could promote oxidation if the beer spends a bit too long in them.
I have noticed that the long-term stability of my beer is better when I've fermented in in glass all the way through. Once fermentation ceases and there is no longer positive CO2 pressure in the fermenter, are plastic fermenters allowing oxygen in? I always make sure I have a good airlock seal and the lid is airtight, but I still seem to get more oxidation in plastic-fermented brews over the long term. I like to leave the beer in the primary at least 4-5 days after active fermentation ceases so the yeast can mop up after itself (and to dry hop if it's required), and this may be the time that problems are occurring.

Does anyone know what the oxygen permeability of food grade plastic fermenters is?

Cheers!

MFS

I have been wondering for a while, since I started brewing in glass, whether plastic fermenters are permeable to oxygen and could promote oxidation if the beer spends a bit too long in them.
I have noticed that the long-term stability of my beer is better when I've fermented in in glass all the way through. Once fermentation ceases and there is no longer positive CO2 pressure in the fermenter, are plastic fermenters allowing oxygen in? I always make sure I have a good airlock seal and the lid is airtight, but I still seem to get more oxidation in plastic-fermented brews over the long term. I like to leave the beer in the primary at least 4-5 days after active fermentation ceases so the yeast can mop up after itself (and to dry hop if it's required), and this may be the time that problems are occurring.