Noob intro.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garage_life

Reaction score
Hey guys, newbie from North side of Brisbane.
Haven't got started yet but currently building a set up, researching, trying to educate myself around all the rookie mistakes.

My plan is to run a TA4-SSR PID controller to run my old beer fridge with a heat belt / IR lamp, thermowell in the fermenter and build a boil kettle with an old keg and a 3 ring wok burner and fabricate a frame for it to sit in. I'm a bit of a tech nerd and love hands on problem solving, been my job for.... too long.

Big hop head but into a lot of different styles, thinking i'll be going for a basic American pale / IPA from a can with some dry hopping as a first suck of the sav and maybe a fresh wort kit from All Inn to follow up as it'd be a good comparison and easy to knock out quickly.

So, g'day! The forum seems to have lot of great info and i'm pretty impressed with the interface, pretty slick compared to some I've used in the past.

Cheers!

edit: If someone can explain racking to a secondary and if it's a thing that is done when bottling it'd be greatly appreciated!

Welcome mate! Enjoy your slide down the slippery slope.

No explanation for racking to secondary, because you don't need to do it. It's one of those hanger-on things that got started by some of the early homebrewing books. You can, if you want. But you don't need to. Sorry, got to get my daughter to bed now, so a proper explanation will have to wait for someone else to expand on it.

Bottling-wise that would be transferring to a bottling bucket if you were bulk priming.

Welcome.