Noob - help taking the next step...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pharmacisticus

Reaction score
Hi All,

Looking for some help, I've made a few home brews now and have had some success. But only using Cooper's store kits and a 23L fermenter, very basic stuff.

I'm looking to see what is the next step up to make a 'better' beer?
Mostly I like pale ale or Japanese style lager, so looking to get my beer crisper and cleaner in taste if that makes sense?

Appreciate any tips but please be aware I am still a novice.

Cheers,

Josh

Hi Josh,

The Japanese Lagers are going to require brewing with rice and lagering. Having not brewed a Japanese lager or extensive knowledge of extract kits I can't tell you if there's a way of brewing with rice using a kit. However the next logical step for most people is moving to brewing with specialty grains, maybe this will help: https://aussiehomebrewer.com/threads/a-guide-to-extract-with-specialty-grain-brewing.70529/

Lagering involves fermenting at low temperatures, usually in a secondary fermenter. So maybe your next homebrew purchase is a fermenting fridge?

Hi Josh, in what way are you wanting improve? We really need to know more of your process to help, do you temperature control? This is a big step to better beer. Are you wanting to go All Grain brewing or partials. Partials will help the cans.

Provide a bit more info and we will do our best to help.

Cheers Tim

Josh

Temperature control for fermenting will make a huge difference.

Throw away the yeast sachet that comes with the can. By a decent yeast from a home brew shop. (US05 is a great yeast to start with)

Throw away the instructions on the can that day too ferment in the mood 20 degrees. Ferment at around 18 as a simple guide.