Help Support Aussie Homebrewer by donating:

1. We have implemented the ability to gift someone a Supporting Membership now! When you access the Upgrade page there is now a 'Gift' button. Once you click that you can enter a username to gift an account Upgrade to. Great way to help support this forum plus give some kudos to anyone who has helped you.
    Dismiss Notice

Nice Guys Brewery & Bar, Richmond (VIC)

Discussion in 'Beer, Pub & Brewery Reviews' started by Black n Tan, 20/4/19.

1. Black n Tan

Posted 20/4/19
    Hi brewers. I have been busy of late and thought I would share my brew dream to open a brewpub, Nice Guys Brewery and Bar, in Richmond, Melbourne.

As background I am a scientist and most recently CEO of a private company working on Alzheimer's disease drug. I recently decided on a 'tree change' and will be opening a brew pub in Richmond (Melbourne) in mid 2019. The brewery will be called Nice Guys which is a little tongue in cheek. We have leased a premises in Victoria St Richmond and have received a planning permit and building permit for the change of use and fit-out. Work on the fit-out is underway. Tanks have arrived and are held in storage. We are doing this on our own so it is all a little scary and expensive, but I believe my brewing and company management experience should see us through. The venue will hold 150 persons and will house a 500L Braumiester, two 17HL and on e 9HL unitanks and about six 15HL and two 9HL serving bright tanks housed in a large cool room. We will serve food also and if things go well we can expand upstairs. We have engaged a builder (who also is an artist), town planning consultant, architect, branding company, acoustic engineers, traffic engineer, land surveyor and building surveyor, and that was just to submit out town planning application to council. I am very happy with the team of people and believe they are the right people to help me deliver my vision. The application took 12 months to go through council and