Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eats shop

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm just starting out on my brewing venture.
I made a few kits many many years ago.
I've just invested in a few kegs and all the bits and bobs.
I've currently made a few brews using Cooper's adding extra hops ect.
Currently have a 60lt and 30lt fermenter and there both bubbling away.

I'd like to get into brewing from scratch and becoming knowledgeable when it comes to brewing.

I enjoy drinking German wheat beer whilst in Germany. I normally drink cascade draught/lager.
I like pale ales and also the sour beers.
I'm wanting to buy grains in bulk 25kg
What types would you recommend having on hand.
Also the types of hops ect.
Where to buy this in bulk?
THBS?
Urn for boiling?
Methods that work for you.
Many thanks in advanced.
Ben.

Look for a local supplier if possible otherwise there are many Melbourne based suppliers that ship like Beerco, Kegland, check out the sponsors shop section.
I think pale/pale ale malt is probably the most versatile and is what i will be buying shortly along with some 5kg lots of specialty malts, i havent bought from them but check out cheapyeast.com.au ,good prices and free postage.

Thanks guys, Yeah Hobart based and I have supported my local Hobart store with all my equipment so far. I never looked at grains tho. I'll be sure to have a chat to Pete next time.

Another update I'm also going to be making a fermentation fridge as my temp is bouncing slightly and want it more accurate from what I've read the results are improved highly.

Unfortunately at this stage it is hard for me to have fridges ect as I'm living in a small cabin until I find a block of land.

+1 for cheapyeast.com.au +1 for what razz said, don't try to run before you can walk.