Newbe Question

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mick

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am fairly new to kegging ( about ten brews )

I was led to beleive that keg beer still needs to age before carbonating like a bottle does.

Some people say that the carbonating is instant aging ?

Usally i will leave my brew in the primary for 10 days than rack to the keg, chill it overnight then gas it for 30 hrs or so.

I want to have a special all malt beer for X mas and was thinking of kegging it now and storing for a few mths before carbonating.

Will this age the beer like in a bottle ? or beeter off CC for that same peorid ?

Is carbonating istant aging ??

I guess that the keg is just a big bottle and it is better off out of the fridge for as long as possible ?

Cheers

I tend to gas the keg up, then leave it for a few days. Seems to need a few days to be at its best.

If you want to, just draw a jug of beer right after gassing up.

JM

Mick

I rack to the keg, gas and leave in the fridge to CC for a month (if it lasts that long)
I always leave my kegs in the keg fridge unless I absolutely have to leave it out at room temp. I have found when using hops with unhopped malt that the flavour improves substantially after about a month CCing. If you really want to compare try 2 of the same brew, leave one at room temp and one to CC.

Hoops

mick

I usually rack to secondary and dry hop - if needed 99% of brews are.
Then rack to keg after2-4 weeks in secondary or to cold condotioning cube for CCing.
Once in the keg and gassed/rocked for 10mins - it stays in the CC fridge until one of the three kegs in the keg fridge is empty.
Therefore it will CC in the keg for upto a month.

The beer does change flavour in the keg as hoops points out.