New To Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TmC

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im relatively new to brewing, actually very new started on saturday with a coopers kit. :D I found it so fun that i bought a 30 litre water container and some other carbouys that were on special and fitted taps and airlocks for fermenters. I have a few questions about one of my brews i started. I used Morgans Australian Lager kit with 500gm of brewblend No2 malt mixture i think, and 250gm honey, used 12gm Pride of Ringwood. I also put in the juice from 2 limes, 1/2 lemon and 1/2 and orange and it has stayed at 26-27 C. I have been reading a lot of forums and they all seem to suggest that this it too high, I am also a bit concerned that i put in too much fruit juice because it smells like fruit cider (was going for more of a carona lime taste). I have been taking the SG everyday and it has come down from 1035 to 1008 after 3-4 days. I want to leave this in primary for at least 2 weeks as i am brewing faster than i can find bottles and i read somewhere that fruit additions take longer to ferment?

I have had to restrain myself from visiting the HBS shop everyday to once a week, it seems everytime i walk in i walk out with a lighter wallet. Have many more questions but that should do for the moment :icon_cheers:

Toby

2 comments:

1. If you want lime in your beer (ala corona), then put a slice in it when you are drinking it. Putting citrus into beer tends to (from my experience) give it a nasty acidic taste and unbalances the yeast.