New Brewer Looking For Some Advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sav2

Reaction score
Hello fellow brewers,

My name is sav and im about to take up the hobby of home brewing. Its something that ive wanted to do for a long time and finally decided to go for it. Now im still a newbie but i have been doing a bit of research and reading some of the posts on the forums and was just wanting a bit of advice.

Im wanting to start off by using cans like the coopers stuff, then once ive gained a bit more experience and knowledge move up to the big boy stuff :). From alot of the posts and articles that ive read on the net, alot of people recommend the coopers DIY kit for a beginner, just wondering your thoughts on it or if theres something a bit better to get started off with. Alot of the posts said that most of gear can be used once you move on to the bigger stuff.

Also if anyone can recommend a good home brew shop (ive personally owned my own business, and i always like to help out the little independents guys instead of giving my money to guys Big W and Kmart). I live in sunnybank in brisbane.

Thank you to anyone that takes the time to read my post, your advice is greatly appreciated.

Sav

Hi, Sav and welcome aboard.

The Coopers kit will service you well. There is nothing in it (execpt maybe the first tin) that you won't continue to use throughout all your brewing days. You can get a more tailored (and possibly cheaper) kit from a LHBS but for ease of getting started it is hard to go wrong with the Coopers kit.

Congrats on wanting to get the fundamentals under control first too. Excellent foresight on your part. I learned so much brewing kits that I may have missed starting out in AG earlier because I was able to focus on one thing at a time instead of everything at once.

Happy brewing!