Need help with Smurto's Golden Ale on Beer Smith

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Roscoe

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and I'm planning on doing this recipe tonight (Dr. Smurto's Golden Ale), I've had the US-05 yeast on the stir plate for the past two days and I'm currently putting all the information into beer smith - I had a little trouble finding the Weyerman grains but realized you had to import and add them separately.

I am wondering if anybody can shed some light on what type of Mash this recipe is for... It gives you a whole list of different options from 'BIAB full bodied' to 'decoction mashes' etc. My setup is similar to this (but no where near as fancy...) http://www.theelectricbrewery.com/brew-day-step-by-step?page=6 .

I have recently read Palmer's book, but I have already forgotten most of the terms - particularly when it come to 'infusions' and 'decoctions' etc.. I have taken a punt and have put in a 'single infusion light bodied batch sparge' hoping that this is right. Could anyone please let me know if this is right and if not, what should be there?

Thanks in advance!

dr smurto.png

3v brewing, Single influsion, med body, batch sparge is the standard option.

vortex said:
3v brewing, Single influsion, med body, batch sparge is the standard option.
yeah its a 3v system - yeah I figured it wasn't going to be a decoction. The system I use is similar to the one on the link I posted, it recirculates the wart through the HLT in order to maintain the temp.

Yep, HERMS type system. Doesn't really affect it too much.

US05 on the stir plate? Oh-no!
Not necessary, rehydrate one pack or direct pitch bro!

micblair said:
US05 on the stir plate? Oh-no!
Not necessary, rehydrate one pack or direct pitch bro!