Need Advice On Gear For 2/3v Setup

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neo__04

Reaction score
Hey all,

Back to ask another question.

Need some recommendations on what to do with the following gear for a 2/3v AG setup.

I have a 46L esky, mashmaster thermometer, so i think im organised for the mash tun
- Any suggestions on recommended manifold? (copper tubing, toilet water hose mesh thing or false bottom?)

Main question is what you recommend for my kettle.
I have a converted 50L keg i have used once in the past with a 3 ring burner but was pretty unhappy with the setup, too long to boil, lot of heat lost from the burner i feel, limiting to having to brew outside, terrible for windy days.
I also have just bought a 40L crab cooper for rays, was thinking of using that with the 3 ring, but now think I'll go electric.

Would you guys use the 50L Keg with or 40L pot for electric (SINGLE BATCHES ONLY).
Also would you want any sort of burst fire controller for the electric element or would it need constant full power for a rolling boil with 25-30 odd litres of water?

Also with the likes of - http://www.craftbrewer.com.au/shop/details.asp?PID=3853, do you need to buy a RCD safety device like they recommend for a handheld heater?

I also have a couple of stc 1000 temp controllers, also another 50L keg.

So I guess im asking... If you had 2 x 50L Kegs, 1 x 40L pot, and the bits and pieces listed, How would you set youself up?
Also I have access to another 50L keg. So maybe one of these fancy 3 x 50L keg setups on a stand i keep seeing on the forums? :p

Any recommendations would be a great help. Just wanna get myself setup properly this time!

Thanks in advance

I have a 46L esky, mashmaster thermometer, so i think im organised for the mash tun