My First Recipe Attempt (suggestions and help needed)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nizmoose

Reaction score
Okay so I'm very new to homebrewing and I'd say the least I know about is what I can do and cant do with the limitations I'm presented with. For example a kit and bit brew is easy and I'd really like to modify the design slightly because it's fun and will hopefully improve the beer. My limitation is basically that I have a primary and all the coopers kit bits, no secondary and I'm bottling and using priming sugar in each individual bottle. I want to dry hop this batch and if possible maybe include a boil but I'm a bit unsure of how to go about it so I'l make a guess or ? in the hope someone can fill in the blanks for me. It's not so much that I don't know what I want to do its that I either am not fully sure how to do it or if I can do it. Before anyone asks, the ingredient choices are based on other peoples recipies and I picked aspects I like about certain ingredients to determine what I wanted to put in :)

So my vastly incomplete recipe plan:

Ingredients
-Coopers Pale Ale Tin
-Coopers Amber Dry Malt 1kg
-Cascade 12g @ 60 mins
-Cascade 12g @ 0mins
-Dry hop with cascade on day___? (one recipe suggested day 5?)
-Yeast __? (would like something that encourages fruity/grapefruit esters)
-Priming sugar______? (suggestions here?)
-Coopers powder sanitiser (feel free to suggest any others that may be better?)
-6L Bottled water (to add to the fermenter on top of 16L of boiled water?)

There's a few things I don't know method wise and it is hard to find much info on extract brewing without using grain steeps/mashes.