My efficiency sucks, can you help?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

r055c0

Reaction score
Hi All,
I’m having a somewhat frustrating time with my efficiency and I’m wondering if anyone can give me some pointers. When I started brewing AG on my system I was hitting around 72%, I’ve done 20 brews now and for the last 5 or 6 brews my efficiency has plummeted to an average of about 62%. I made a few adjustments to a brew on the weekend, including building a new copper manifold for my mash tun and adding Calcium Chloride at approx. 1/1000 (a reccomendation I got from here for melbourne water), but was only able to get it up to 64%. I’ve always been pretty close with my volume estimates, usually within 0.5L

To be honest I’m still making beer that I really enjoy, and I’m compensating for my low efficiency when I design my recipes (in Beersmith) so the only real detriment is the cost of an additional ½ kilo or so of grain and a few extra grams of hops so that extra $2 or so is really not killing me, but knowing that I should be getting better efficiency is nagging at me, I want to do this right. I'm re reading John Palmer's How To Brew but if there is anything that stands out to any of you I would love to hear it.

So if you can be bothered you can read my brew day process below, it’s a bit ghetto in a few spots but if this forum has taught me anything it is that ghetto is the essence of brewing :D

Equipment:
  • 1 x Keggle with 3 ring burner
  • 1 x 44L square esky mash tun with copper manifold (pic below)
  • 1 x 8L bucket for moving water around
  • 1 x 25L esky for storing first runnings while sparge water goes into the mash tun
copper manifold.jpg

Method (using a medium body pale ale as an example):
  • Grain goes into the mash tun