Munich LME

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewdjoffe

Reaction score
I'm planning on brewing the following this weekend. Its a recipe I've come up with in an attempt to clone the Pirate Life IPA. My specific question is whether I am using enough Munich LME. From what I've read, if you're using 2-row and munich, the munich shouldn't be more than 15% of the grain bill (it is currently 8%). This could be very wrong. I am still new to brewing.

Thanks!

Malts/Grains

3.4kg Light Liquid Extract (2 x 1.7kg cans of Black Rock; one added at the beginning of the boil and one added with 15mins remaining in the boil)
400gm Munich Liquid Extract
400gm Crystal 20L
200gm CaraPils

Hop Schedule

25gm Simcoe - 60 mins
25gm Centennial - 10 mins
50gm Riwaka - 0 mins
75 gm Simcoe - 0 mins
50gm Riwaka - Dry Hop
50gm Simcoe - Dry Hop

Yeast

US05

400 grams of Munich LME is a minuscule amount, definitely not too much. I frequently use the equivalent of approx 700-750 LME (I do all grain) & that amount works nicely.

Your recipe looks pretty sound, spec grains look like a good amount... If you are boiling all of your extract it will most likely come out slightly darker than your software predicts.

Good luck, should be a nice brew!

stewy said:
400 grams of Munich LME is a minuscule amount, definitely not too much. I frequently use the equivalent of approx 700-750 LME (I do all grain) & that amount works nicely.

Your recipe looks pretty sound, spec grains look like a good amount... If you are boiling all of your extract it will most likely come out slightly darker than your software predicts.

Good luck, should be a nice brew!
Thanks stewy! I'll tinker around with it a bit to incorporate some more Munich LME - will probably go with your suggestion of about 700-750gm