Mouth feel on Northwest APA

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lowlyf

Reaction score
Hey guys,

All my beers so far have really been quite dry and missing the nice mouth feel of traditional west coast pales.
I've recently brewed this batch and am wanting to know how you think it'll turn out and if youd change anything.

2.5kg Liquid Light Malt Extract
1kg Liquid Wheat Malt Extract
1x Lager/Pilsner Grain Pack
30g Citra Hops (11.2% AA) ‐ 60 min boil
20g Citra (13.5% AA) & 10g Cascade Hops (6.8% AA) ‐ 10 min boil
10g Citra (13.5% AA) & 10g Cascade Hops (6.8% AA) – 0 min boil
20g Cascade (6.8% AA) – Dry Hop
Safale US‐04

It tasted amazing when taking the SG, and it's my first attempt at using US04 yeast as opposed to 05. I read on here somewhere that 05 can be dry finishing and the 04 not dry

I reckon stick to the US-05 as it's a US style ale yeast. S04 (not us04?) is associated with English ales.

I'll let somebody else chime in, but I think your pilsner/lager grains could be the reason for dryness as they are usually mashed at a lower temp?

Hop bill all good for style. Would be intetesting to see what swapping the timings around of the cascade + citra would do...

I reckon stick to the US-05 as it's a US style ale yeast. S04 (not us04?) is associated with English ales.

I'll let somebody else chime in, but I think your pilsner/lager grains could be the reason for dryness as they are usually mashed at a lower temp?

Hop bill all good for style. Would be intetesting to see what swapping the timings around of the cascade + citra would do...

Yes sorry S04. With that though I've also read that some people can't even tell the difference. It will be interesting to see how it turns out. If it's too yeasty then I'll be going back to 05 as quick as a flash

looks tasty