Monica Vs Nasa Burners

Hopaholic
Cyclone Monica is bearing towards Gove which has put paid to any brewing this week end and during the week.
Question is can the nasa burners withstand tomorrows wind squalls of 120km/h building upwards to 160 km/h in the arvo without going out if im foolhardy enough to try a brew..?
This is pre cyclone touch down stuff.Its currently catergory 4 (235 km/h)but they reckon it may peak at cat 5.(max)
On the other hand its time i proberbly lashed and stowed the set up.Interesting weekend ahead of me.
Fingers crossed it misses us here.Ive got brew plans ahead of me. :p

Big D
Fridge stocked with lots of homebrew.

good luck bigd, hopefully like its name sake it will pass by leaving only a stained dress.

Alcohol fueled brewtality.
Jayse

Big D.

Good luck for the winds tomorrow. I'd say maybe some rather large concrete blocks would be a good thing. :eek:

Jayse... Love the new avatar. When shall we see you riding for the Hell's Angels? :p

Best of luck D-man,

Will be thinkin' of ya, and will have a brew for ya on the pub crawl tomorrow.

OK, one for U too, Warren, whether U want it or not (he he).

Peace, out!
Seth

Weizguy said:
OK, one for U too, Warren, whether U want it or not (he he).

Peace, out!
Seth
[post="121904"][/post]​

:beerbang:

Good luck Big D, batten down the hatches, hope all goes well for you. And I hope you have plenty of water(brew) on hand.

Good luck Big D was in Port Douglas last month when Larry skimmed past just to the South and flattened Innisfail. Will ring my mate Luke in Darwin, get him to be on the lookout for free flying brew porn

jayse said:
good luck bigd, hopefully like its name sake it will pass by leaving only a stained dress.

Alcohol fueled brewtality.
Jayse
[post="121895"][/post]​

Hi big d,

We dont want the headlines to read;

" MONICA SUCKS A MAN AND HIS BREWERY OFF ARNEMLAND" :lol:

All jokes aside Dave, sounds like you will batten down the hatches and chain down the brewery until she passes.
Hope all is ok for you and your family and friends.

All the best bigd.
Stay safe.

On the nasa versus Monica side..I wonder how many nasa burners pitted against Monica would be enough to make her chage course? :D

johnno

NASA might, my 4-ring wouldn't have a prayer. Good luck, big d.

Stripped down the brewery this morning and have been lashing most things down or stowing them inside.Very still outside at the moment with very little wind.Kinda like the calm before the storm.Weather predictions so far havent been correct but the radar picture shows what is looming in the distance.

big d who is in for a long and windy night i reckon.
monica_1730_pm.gif

Good luck mate, just heard it is now Cat 5 and due to hit 7.00am tomorrow morning.

Shelter in the laundry with the esky of HB :chug:

Weird! Ch 9 weather tonight 6pm news announced that Monica had crossed the coast and caused some damage to Nulanbuy.

Never trust the media.It /she hasnt hit us yet but hopefully it will follow the coast line and not hit us directly.B.O.M site has estimated the core gusts at approx 325 km/h.
Currently enjoying a few pints whilst i still have power and cold beer.
Gonna be a long night and sunday when the winds pick up.

Cheers in breezy nights
Big D

Geeze hope you have some beers to tide you through bigd. If you are nutz enough I reckon you will be fine as either the whole rig will lob somewhere else or if it blows out the burner the winds will prevent an explosive mixture forming :lol:

I reckon I would stay inside :ph34r:

Still off the coast big d I bet youve had a long night waiting . anyway better in daylight ... Hope all gos well for you today .

Ch 9 News this morning had a report from reporter Justin ?? showed some footage of Nulanbuy residents bunkering down in a cyclone shelter and said that about 1000 mine workers would take refuge in the mess hall. Said police were driving around advising people to batten down and that intermittent gusts of 100kph were being experienced.

What is the situation from the horses mouth Big D ?

Cheers, stay safe.

Heaps of rain o/night.So far today its been pretty gusty with the wind and some rain but other than that its still a waiting game.The seas off the surf club were up this morning when i went for a drive but since then the coppers have been around town telling all to stay inside as the situation is now dangerous :blink:
Been out and about and its not that bad as yet.

Big D

Looking at your radar this morning Big D and your realy getting the rain bands. Will be interesting stats after this. How a nasa gos under water might be more appropreate(Spelling). :)
Hope alls well and you and your are safe and dry. :beer:

I'll be having one for you soon..