Mead in stainless steel

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knot_gillty

Reaction score
Complete noob here. Got one batch of mead on the go but it's my one and only so far. Curious as to why they would say do not ferment in metal? This is an excerpt out of a book I have titled "Mead Making" by Bryan Acton and Peter Duncan. Why can't you ferment in metal containers? I was thinking of getting a SS fermenter.

Thoughts??

ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1493964968.979420.jpg

My 1st thought is that most (if not 99%) of commercial fermenters are 304 stainless steel or above.
My 2nd thought is perhaps the author once tried to ferment in an old olive oil tin.
My 3rd thought is that everything will be OK.

Mr Wibble said:
My 1st thought is that most (if not 99%) of commercial fermenters are 304 stainless steel or above.
My 2nd thought is perhaps the author once tried to ferment in an old olive oil tin.
My 3rd thought is that everything will be OK.
Yeah I can't see a reason as to why it would be frowned upon. But as I said, noob when it comes to this stuff so thought I'd ask.

I was contemplating purchasing some sort of SS conical fermenter so thought I'd ask. Cheers for the reply.

manticle said:
Cheers manticle. Couldn't edit it on my phone..

Acton and Duncan is very, very dated. I bought it when I first started making mead nearly 30 years ago and it was old then.

They didn't have nice stainless fermenters back in the early neolithic so by metal they mean things like an aluminium pot.

Stainless will be fine.

Cheers
Dave