Mead Help

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dico

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Im new to AussieHomeBrewer and home brewing in general, I have done 3 homebrews myself, but they have all been from those cans of Coopers that you find in the supermarket, anyway they all turned out terrible, and had an awful yeasty taste and aroma about them, and they never actually got started fermenting very well in the first place.

Anywhoo... During my recent visit to Ireland, me and my family decided to take a day out at Bunratty Castle, which is quite famous for its "Bunratty Mead", having never tried Mead before I was rather sceptical about it and took my first sip from a hand fashioned stone cup, the Mead ran smoothly down my throat and delivered a lovely sweet taste, followed by a sort of wine like light alcoholic zing... It was fantastic. At this point I parted with the best of a 20 euro note and bought two bottles of Bunratty Mead from the man, who then informed me that Mead was the drink of choice of the High Kings of Ireland, and was also traditionally used to toast the Bride and Groom on their wedding night, thus being nicknamed the "Honey-Mooners Drink". I thanked him for such information and made on my way, the bottles survived the trip around Ireland and England, but when they arrived into Australia, they were soon consumed by me and my friends who all appreciated the fine taste so very much.