Matilda Bay Dogbolter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PistolPatch

Reaction score
One of my favourite beers was the original Matilda Bay Dark Lager (now branded as Dogbolter). The original though, and I'm talking 20 years ago now, was a smoother, better beer. (Used to work for the company back then, beer heaven - 50 imported beers plus our own brewery!)

I think the style is Munich Dunkel Lager???

I was wondering if anyone has brewed something similiar from extract and steeping grains. Due to space limitations, the most wort I could boil would be limited to however much can fit into a 20 litre pot and a 16 litre pot. I am unsure as to how high you can fill these. You are dealing with a newbie here whose only boiled 6 litres before and has never steeped grain so the simpler the advice the better! Just looking for a starting point - doesn't have to be the duck's nuts!

Cheers :beer:

As a simple alternative try an ESB 3kg Bavarian Bock Kit, make it to a total volume of 20 litres and you will be not far off. If you are brewing in a unit these are great fun.
James

Thanks Jim! Brewing in a unit has so many restrictions but at least it make you think harder! Pint of Lager gave me a link to brewery.org the other day and it had an article there titled, "AG in a 1 Bedroom Apartment.' Just what I was after however the link had expired! So, I guess I'll have to pave my own way to that goal.

Thanks again though for the tip. As this thread seems a little lonely(at the moment!), I'll start with the ESB, see how it goes, do some more reading and hopefully, eventually achieve what was an outstanding beer that is with us no longer.