Mangrove Jack's Burton Union M79

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheWiggman

Haters' gonna hate
Reaction score
I can't find any discussion on this yeast before so I thought I'd start this thread.
I recently did a Better Red Than Dead and unfortunately MHB didn't have the yeast I was after. He suggested this instead and said it was bang on for the style.

I brewed Saturday, no chilled and tipped the contents into the fermenter on Sunday night. It bubbled and frothed to the max and I sprinkled the yeast on the bubbles. Temp 22°C with weather cooling. OG 1.054. Didn't rehydrate because I've never done it before.

Tonight, after 48h, it's still showing almost no activity. There are some coagulations forming near the surface but nothing that follows a typical ferment. It's been sitting between 18-20°C. Gravity hasn't moved.

Anyone used this yeast before? Not sure why it would be such a slow starter, my lager kicked off faster than this.

I've got another pack here. Might just commit to the $5.50 and pitch it, better than wasting a whole batch. Time to give this whole rehydration thing a go.

Thick dense layer of krausen 24h later. Either the first lot didn't work or it all took 72h to come to life.
I've never had that with a dry yeast before pitching at decent temps.

Got it kegged and drinkable.
Yeast took about 6 days after 2nd addition to reach FG. TARGET 1.015, got to 1.014.
Flocculated quite well. Actual finished product in the keg is very clear after 2 weeks. On draining the fermenter there were interesting clumps like small twisties of yeast that were settled on the bottom.