Looking to enter the world of home brewing and have a few questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dphwilliams

Reaction score
G'day everyone

As someone who enjoys a good beer and whiskey, I'm looking to enter the world of home brewing. One of the biggest motivators is my hatred for paying taxes (I'm libertarian). Knowing that so much of the bottle price is going to the state doesn't exactly get me excited. Another is that I work in the grain export industry. I test grain for quality so have an endless supply to either free or very cheap grains such as wheat, barley, oats, corn, sorghum, etc. I can also keep aside the best of the best for me while cleaning and grading it to further improve quality on work equipment if I so wish.

I know nothing about home brewing as yet but have just purchased John J. Palmer's book "How To Brew" on Book Depository. Will read it from cover to cover once I receive it while also trying to learn what I can from this great forum here.

I suppose I'm initially curious about equipment and upfront costs. I don't have a huge amount of money to put into brewing/distilling right at the moment. I do have two electric grain mills that mean I can crack grain either very fine or coarse. I've heard this can be useful for brewing & distilling??

I've got a couple of mates and couple of family members that would be keen to join in if I can brew a good beer. Between us we probably drink 5 cartons per week at the moment. I'm curious as to whether I'd need a heap of money to get started and make a good brew? Would we be able to save some coin if we were to home brew 5 cartons a week instead of buying these (considering grain would not cost or cost very little)? Or is it more a hobby of love that probably won't amount to much in the way of cost savings?