Liquid Yeast Supply Chain & Frequency Of Shipment

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rowanb

Reaction score
What is the supply chain regarding liquid from the USA? Are there key Australian distributors supplying retailers, or do retailers deal direct with the US companies, or is it a bit of both? What would be a typical time period between production in the US and availability from a local retailer?

The freshest ive got it is a month after production.Cheers

What is the supply chain regarding liquid from the USA? Are there key Australian distributors supplying retailers, or do retailers deal direct with the US companies, or is it a bit of both? What would be a typical time period between production in the US and availability from a local retailer?

I can't speak about whitelabs as I have no experience, but Wyeast have a list of their resellers on their website.

Going back a few years there was a healthy supply chain with a number of distributors getting regular shipments from the USA, and wholesaling to retailers over a wide area. Homebrewers had access to a wide variety of fresh yeast strains.

This all came crashing down when one 'wholesaler' started selling to homebrewers at wholesale prices and this killed the market for the legitimate wholesalers. There are now a lot of different retailers directly importing yeast in dribs and drabs.

It takes 1 week for the yeast to be produced and 3 days to ship it to Australia.

HTH,
Dave

if its a really popular strain it can be as young as 2-3 weeks old.I always look at the packets at the back of the display....bit like when you buy the milk.