Kits and bits BUT no roasted barley -- can I do a red ale?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lord Ester

Reaction score
Hi guys.

So I've been keen to have a shot at a red ale based on a Coopers kit. All the recipes I've looked at have roasted barley as essential. What I have available is the following:

-Coopers Pale Ale, OS Lager, OS Draught, Canadian Blonde, OS Stout extracts
-1kg Briess Sparkling Amber Liquid Extract (built on base malt, caramel 60L and Munich)
-Plenty of LDME
-Some specialty grains (JW crystal; JW choc malt; Simpsons black malt; Special B )
-Dextrose or raw sugar
-Tonnes of Helga hops, and small amounts of Galaxy, Amarillo, Cascade and Willamette.

I have hunted around on the internet for quite a bit and couldn't seem to turn up something that would work for me. I'm still very new to brewing, so a lot of the numbers and concepts are skating over my head. I don't have equipment to mash, but have done a few steeps already.

Not after something really bitter, but more along the lines of malty and smooth. Can it be done with these ingredients? I'd hoped the Briess extract would help out, but it lacks roasted barley too ...

Thanks, D. Stu … my only problem was: all the recipes I saw (and over the last few days I've seen a few) all want to include roasted barley. Most people seem to say it is predominantly for colour. Beyond colour, is there something that roasted barley will give that can't be achieved with what I have available? Sorry if I'm being dense or something … I have tried to find the answer I'm after, but hadn't been successful to date ...