Kit yeast - is it all the same?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradgc

Reaction score
Hey,
I'm very new to home brewing. I've been reading what I can about hops and yeasts.

I've got a question about yeast that's included with kits. Is it all the same generic stuff?
If I use a special yeast, should I add the kit one as well? (Eg: Morgans golden sheaf wheat, I used the brew cellar "wheat beer" yeast. Should I add the kit stuff as well?

Short answers, it depends and no, don't add both packs.

Long answer, there's a post on here somewhere listing the coopers kit yeasts (on my phone so can't find it atm), other kit brands I can't comment on, but will probably have at least some variation except in the cheapest ones (home brand etc).
Some people add the kit yeast to the end of a boil to use as nutrient for the main yeast, but it's not something I have tried, generally they just stack up in my fridge until I decide to chuck them.

I think its fair to say every harvest can have its variables.
I brew a reliable kit brew with the supplied yeast to also recycle the best of the yeast cake. Its always been excellent yeast to recycle.
But I just did the same kit brew like many times before and have gotten an egg smell from the ferment.
This isn't right. It suggests to me there is a lager yeast in there as well or something weird some dickhead mixed the yeasts or something.
Disappointed on something I was confident on etc.

go with your nose etc.

>"go with your nose etc"

I'm asking about using kit yeast or not?

Maybe let me clarify.
Does anyone know what type of yeast is used in "Morgans golden sheaf wheat"?

I can only add 2 cents but
If it is in a plane white paper satche then I have never used it.