K Mart Kits

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keef12345

Reaction score
I have heard so much negative feedback from beer kits bought from
coles, k mart etc

Are their mixes really THAT bad?

Is there anyway to fix them up and get a good beer out of them..

Im a newbie thanks for the help guys this forum is gold..

my last kit was from coles

Coopers real ale 1.7kg
Brew enhancer 2 1kg

Just bought some cascade hops and salale us-05 yeast to improve it

Still waiting to taste the goods though, just racked it (first time racking and bulk priming)

Everyone has their own preferences though! each to their own!

Do you mean homebrand, savings type brands?
Apparently they skim out on some of the ingredients and use basic sugars instead, I'm no expert but remember reading somewhere about it.

In saying that though there are ways of course to dress it up, some hops, specialty grain etc

Do you mean homebrand, savings type brands?
Apparently they skim out on some of the ingredients and use basic sugars instead, I'm no expert but remember reading somewhere about it.

In saying that though there are ways of course to dress it up, some hops, specialty grain etc

as a test I made a farmland lager and it is currently 2.5 weeks old.
I used the coles brand yeast that came with the tin.
I used a coopers no 1 adjunct mix Ill let you know how it goes

But when I added the yeast to the farmland wort (which had a temp of 23) the yeast went crazy. Within an hour air lock was bubbling like a fishtank filter and the next morning a large mango sized ball of foam covered the airlock completly. The airlock continued to bubble burp and cary on for about 4 days straight and after about 5 days after that I got a 1011 reading for two days straight so I bottled her up.

Cheers

my last kit was from coles

Coopers real ale 1.7kg