IPA recipe help

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

technobabble66

Meat Popsicle
Reaction score
Howdy,
In spite of my love for hoppy beers, this is my first attempt at an AIPA. I've put together a recipe that i think is ok, but thought i'd throw it up here to see if there's any feedback on something i've missed (or over-thought!).

4 C's on the Horizon, AIPA
23L
OG = 1.063
FG = 1.015
IBU = 55.5
alc = 6.6%
EBC = 17.3

2kg MO
1.7kg Boh Pils (just to use up excess Pils malt)
1kg Munich 2
0.5kg Victory
0.5kg Wheat malt
0.25kg Carapils (bought but never used, thought i might as well try it here)
0.05kg Acidulated

1.4g CaSO4 & MgSO4 + 2.2g CaCl2 into mash
1.1g CaSO4 & MgSO4 + 1.7g CaCl2 into sparge
0.75g CaSO4 & MgSO4 + 1g CaCl2 into boil

20L Mash, 15L Sparge
55/66/72/78 for 5/65/20/2

5g Horizon FWH
20g each of Columbus/Citra/Chinook/Cascade into cube (as per 20min addition)
20g each of Columbus/Citra/Chinook/Cascade dry hopped after fermentation.

Ferment with 1272, at 19°C.
-------------

So basically the malts are: Ale + Munich + Victory, plus some Wheat/Carapils for extra head/body.
The hops seem a decent combo, but i was wondering if i should increase/decrease the proportions of the hops (or if it's an oversight not including Simcoe!).
The IBUs are within the style range, but probably the main query was whether the ratios of IBUs-to-OG-to-FG looks about right.

Cheers!

To me the malt combo seems too complex for an IPA, it lends itself more to an apa grain bill.

What I would do is drop the wheat, carapils, and victory then bump up the base to required OG. Let the hops shine.

Since I chill a can't comment on the hop schedule but the combo looks bloody nice.

Thanks Jimmy
Yeah, it looks like too many things.
Normally the pils wouldn't be there so that's an extra also.