IPA no aroma - yeast or process?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meddo

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm after some advice please regarding my latest brew, I'm still very new at this and don't have any trends to really work with yet (this is my ninth brew).

Full recipe specs below but the summary is that I brewed an IPA with a large whirlpool addition of Vic Secret and Topaz which had massive flavour and aroma going into the FV. I used WLP090 San Diego Super Yeast which from my reading is supposed to be similarly neutral to the Chico strains. Over the course of the ferment most of the hop aroma and some of the hop flavour faded significantly. Beer samples two weeks after kegging (travelling in between so no access to interim samples) had lost almost the entire hop aroma, although some reasonable flavour remained. Dry hops were added in a weighted hopsock at 16 degrees after the primary ferment had completed, and removed four days later prior to cold crashing.

Specifics of the brew/ferment are below, but I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced similar loss of aroma from WLP090, or if there's something I've buggered up in my fermentation process. ALL critical feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Although I'm guessing this isn't relevant to the issue at hand, I had a problem with the brewing of this wort in that I was six pints deep when milling the grain the night before and decided to widen the gap. It wasn't until I was half mashed-in the next morning that I realised half the grain was uncracked (oops). It took 3.5 hours of mashing including a temp raise to 71 deg for the last half hour to get the OG approaching what the recipe required. Everything post-mash went to plan however.

Apologies about the details as images, I haven't been able to get the tables to paste properly into the post.

Recipe: