Infected Pale Ale?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

christ

Reaction score
Hey guys, Im very new to brewing and im on my second batch.

I decided to use a pale ale tin from coopers along with brew enhancer 2not sure what was in it though, I think 500g malt, 500g dextrose or something? I pitched the yeast on the 20th and it bubbled for about 48 hoursafter this it slowed to a stop. The temp was at 23-25 the whole time. the gravity is at 10 but im not sure what it started on.

The thing im worried about is that its developed a kind of farty smell to itI opened up the top of the fermenter and it smelt really strongly of beery farty alcoholic smellit wasnt too bad but it still smells a bit off and Im worried it is infected.
I cleaned all the scum from the last batch off by soaking the fermenter in warm water then scrubbing off the remaining soft bits with a sponge and then I put half a cup of bleach in and let that sit for an hour with all the tools in it. I then rinsed it out really well and cant really see where ive gone wrong..i thought I was very thorough with the cleaning.
Maybe im just paranoid but I have to go away tomorrow for a few days and im worried about leaving the beerI want it to be a good batch.

Cheers

JC

edit: the yeast i used was under the cap coopers yeat ;). i plan on using another type next time after reading the forums for a few hours.

23-25 deeg C is a bit high, go for a lower temperature next time.

Read the thread called Infection?
this has some good info.

Leave it for another week, check the sg with a hydrometer, and when ready bottle it.

Often the smell in primary does not reflect the true beer,

Bleach is a very good cleaner, but must be really well rinsed, otherwise it affects the finished beer.