Increasing Alcohol Percentage Of Kit And Kilos

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

orwell_g

Reaction score
Hey guys,

First time post, and probably a controversial one, I'm a noob brewer, and want to get into the world of brewing. Getting there slowly, have done 4 brews so far from kit and kilos and have just about finished my tempmate wiring to control my fridge (so I can brew all year round).

Quick question, the general cooper's packs with 1kg brew enhancers will say approximately 4.2% alcohol percentage on the back of the brew enhancer.

Now, it appears that the yeast will only consume a certain amount of sugar, and this seems to coincide with a bell curve type of scenario. The more sugar you add, the less alcohol percentage gain you get based on the yeast (I'm assuming) that is in the kit, therefore,

too much sugar = sugary leftover that the yeast hasn't fermented

I'm wondering, if it is possible to get up around 5% or more from a kit and kilo (and a half maybe?) to add a bit more kick to the home brew.

If this is a stupid question, please educate me ... :p

I believe you could get much higher than 5% if you wanted.

Adding fully fermentable "sugar" i.e dextrose will increase your final alcohol % without leaving behind any sweetness. I'm not sure if there is a limit?

I believe the brew enhancers have some maltodextrine which isn't fully fermentable. Adding this will result in higher final SG, some sweetness and more body to the beer.

Hey guys,

First time post, and probably a controversial one, I'm a noob brewer, and want to get into the world of brewing. Getting there slowly, have done 4 brews so far from kit and kilos and have just about finished my tempmate wiring to control my fridge (so I can brew all year round).