Hunter Valley amateur signing on

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fraser's BRB

Reaction score
Hi all,

My name's Scott, I've been brewing enthusiastically most weekends for 18 months now from my back patio in Singleton NSW.

I started with extract but quickly moved to BIAB and now a 3 pot system all grain as I wanted more control over ingredients and flavours.

My gear is largely done on the cheap with much of it being modified/built by myself (with help from a few handy mates) as I have advanced my brewing knowledge and techniques. My biggest bugbear at the moment is low efficiency and I'm probably going to purchase a malt mill in the near future as the next step in gaining more control over that side of things in the hunt for better efficiency.

I got sick of washing bottles, so I built myself a 3 tap keezer from an old chest freezer that we were getting rid of and I'm pretty happy with the result (I've tried to link a photo, but we'll see how that works out). It has capacity for 4 corny kegs, but I'm now itching to get hold of another chest freezer so I can expand capacity. I tend to brew more than I can consume, however it's not too hard to rope in mates and neighbours whenever I need to free up a keg in a hurry.

Right now I have a Pale Ale, Amber Ale and an ESB on tap with a Celtic Red and an Oatmeal Stout fermenting.

I'm still very much a newbie, but I'm hungry for knowledge and improvement in every brew.

So g'day, and if you're ever in the Hunter region, look me up, we can share a beer and hopefully you can teach me a thing or two!

Cheers,
Scott

keezer finished.jpg

keezer lights.jpg

SBOB said:
nice keezer..
Thanks, it took about 2 months to build as we have a toddler and I could only get to it in 1 to 2 hour blocks on weekends, so I'm pretty proud of it.