How To Make My Brews Better?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daveee

Reaction score
Now I am new to brewing, having only but down 7 kits so far. I'm after some advice on how to brew. I'll go through my current technique.

Before I begin I steralise everything. So far I have had no problem with infections.

Ok then I let my can sit in hot water for 15 mins to soften up. This is when I let my hops steep. I then pour the can contents into the fermenter and add 2l of boiling water. I then add my malt/sugar combo (whatever I get from the brew store). I stirr it all through and fill with cold water. I then add my hops and yeast. (Lately I have been using specific yeast, not just the yeast that came with the pack)

I then let it ferment at what ever the right temp is until it's done. I don't rack into another fermenter at all.

I then fill my bottles with sugar manually and fill them up and use a bench capper to cap them.

So any ideas on how for me to brew better?

I'm thinking maybe buying a second fermenter and using it for racking during fermenting, and also for bulk priming? Anything else I can do?

The problems I think I have with my beer is too much sediment, and some brews are over-carbonated.

Brewing Improvements

Racking and dry hopping are 2 of the biggest improvers you can do.

Rack for 2 weeks. Can also put the fermenter in the fridge for 3-4 days to cold condition and get the yeast to drop out of suspension.

Also, keep really accurate records.

Try getting some grains:
light crystal and crystal and good starters.
Steep them in cold water for 3 hours and pour thru a seive into the fermenter. This will enhance the body, mouthfeel and add a nice fresh maltiness to the beer.

Start experimenting with other grains.

The over carbonation has to do with priming - use less sugar.

Hope this helps.